5 Minute Friday: GARDEN

[Part of Lisa Jo Baker’s 5 Minute Friday prompts, which are a fantastic way to get me to write.]

[And yes, I’m posting it on a Tuesday morning, not a Friday… but let’s just say I’m working on kairos here, and not chronos… yeah?]

Image

I’m not good at memorizing quotes, or poems, or even bible verses for that matter. My brain absorbs the essence, not details. 

But I hope to God I never forget what Emily Dickinson wrote in one of her letters: ‘The only Commandment I ever obeyed — ‘Consider the Lilies.”

Tonight, after a staff meeting that adjourned at 11pm, I lingered and lounged upside down on comfy couches with two other friends. We talked boys, parents, dreams, expectations… and us.

Our rambunctious staff of 15. 

In our staff, we admire diversity. We applaud chaos. We welcome conflict.  

We are a garden, a wild garden. 

We are tended to by God’s hand. We are scattered to the earth, not blindly as it may seem, but very strategically. In our garden, there thrives lilies, sun flowers, cacti, aloes, and touch-me-nots. It isn’t the perfect combination, but that’s why we’re perfect. When God is your gardener, we are watered with “love” and not necessarily with “harmony.”

Unkept, wild, and wonderful. Just as we were meant to flourish. 

Thanks be to God. 

Leave a Reply

